True Sadness

This evening I went to visit one of the bravest women I know.  She is my aunt.  She has been a single mom of three.  She has started a successful career for herself.  She has been and independent woman.  She has been a sister to eight siblings.  She has battled cancer for 25 years.  She is one of the bravest women I know.

So for all of you out there that might stumble upon my blog and believe in some sort of higher power, please send a prayer her way.  She has aggressive terminal lung cancer at this point and is being made comfortable.  She is only 58.  For the first time in my life I am experiencing true sadness.  I have lost people important to me before, but this is different.  To watch such a strong woman still have fight left is truly amazing.

So forgive me for using this blog as an outlet to say somethings to her that I might not be able to get out.  You see, I am not a great faker.  I can not hide when something is truly wrong and say everything is going to be ok.  I saw her with my own eyes.  Yes I believe there is hope and yes I believe she has fight.  But deep inside I have such sadness.  Sadness that the world will one day lose such a wonderful woman.  Sadness that she will never be a grandmother.  Sadness that its that time in my life to have to experience this kind of loss.

So I say to you (blog world) and myself-love people.  Love people with your whole heart, because my sadness shows me how much she has truly touched my life.  So to you Aunt Jerri, thank you.  Just thank you for being you and helping me to be me.

0 Responses to “True Sadness”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

