Wellness Wednesday-Zumba

After having my second child in March of 2007, I just kind of waited for the baby weight to fall off. I was nursing, so it would just come off, right? I could not be more wrong. It wasn’t until January when a good friend of mine gave me a picture from New Years Eve that I realized just how the baby weight was not gone. As a matter of fact, I was down right repulsed. So I joined a gym and than 7 weeks ago joined Weight Watchers. I have found the perfect cocktail for a health makeover. So with these posts I will focus on either food, fitness, or mental well being.

Today’s post is going to be about the new rage in the work out world-ZUMBA! Thats right I said Zumba. Zumba is a class that infuses latin dance with a great cardio workout. There was a piece on the Today Show last Fall that you can see here:

Now, when I went for the first time I felt like a complete moron. I was born without the hip shakin’ gene. I was watching myself in the mirror and thinking how lucky I was to not know anyone in the class. But as I looked around, it did not really matter. Nobody is paying attention to my lack of booty shakin’ skills. They are too busy having fun and getting the workout of a lifetime. My instructor said that in a typical class you can burn 800-1000 calories on average. It is like you are at a 60 minute wedding reception.

I love Zumba. I am soaked with sweat when I am done and all the muscles in all the right places are sore. I challenge you to try this type of workout. Step out of your comfort zone and get fit by dancing. I attend the MAC (Michigan Athletic Club) and I know that the local Grand Rapids, MI YMCA has Zumba too. So check your local listings and get shakin’.

2 Responses to “Wellness Wednesday-Zumba”


  1. 1 bigbinder May 21, 2008 at 1:57 am

    You are totally inspring. I think I might take a “Training Wheels” class at my gym. It’s for people who are chickens about Spinning..

  2. 2 thediaperdiaries May 21, 2008 at 2:09 am

    I will be checking this out in a few weeks. I am stupidly excited about it.


Leave a Reply

