Not One To Brag, But…………….

Happy Weekend!  Now typically I am not one of those mom’s that reports all the obstacles and firsts to the world, but I simply can not help myself with this one.  I purchased a gift for my daughter on her third birthday, it was a box with laces to teach you to tie your shoes.  At little aggressive on my part, so it was a toy that was put in the closet and forgot about-until today!

I was organizing closets (another blog post in itself) and found this shoe toy.  I sat down with my daughter and showed her the loop to loop method (versus bunny ears).  She honestly got it in two tries.  She practiced on and off the rest of the day on her own and than did real shoes.  To me this amazing, while to some it may be boring and normal.   I had one of those moments as a parent that could have resulted in ugly crying.  Children grow up so very fast.  They become less dependent.  They are like little sponges.  We wait for them to get to this stage, and than when they do—-well let the ugly crying commence.

I love being a mom.  I love that my husband and I created these little lives that are going to be something one day.  Hopefully our children will make a positive impact on the world, or at least the world they live in.

2 Responses to “Not One To Brag, But…………….”


  1. 1 thediaperdiaries June 2, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Cool! I haven’t even thought about this cause we literally do not own a pair of kids shoes that ties. Plus I still tie my shoes with bunny ears (I kid you not) so I will have to pass this task off to the hubby. I think we have to learn by Kindergarten cause she will have gym class with real tennis shoes. I think my mom has one of those books, I will have to check it out.

  2. 2 bigbinder June 2, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Wow! I remember learning to tie my shoes in Kindergarten, she is way ahead of her time!!


Leave a Reply

