Wellness Wednesday- “Speak your mind and the rest will follow….”

For my Wellness Wednesday I want to showcase the power of speaking your mind.  My my faithful two readers, you might get something for this or just nod your head and say “Amen Sister”.  There is such truth in the statement, “The truth will set you free”.  This statement encompasses so many different thoughts and ideas.  You might be asking yourself, “what in the world does this have to do with wellness?”  Well let me tell you!

Bottling up emotions most certainly causes you stress.  Here are some of the basics about stress and aging.  Stress can literally take years off or your life.  For those of you that have a successful marriage, children, careers, extended family, hobbies, or things that make you happy in general; why would you want to cut your life short?

If you know me, you know that I am who I am.  I am not perfect and will never claim to be, but I do live my life in a manner that eliminates or avoids as much stress as humanly possible.  I still get overwhelmed.  I still get mad.  I still get sad.  I still get stressed.  But, its rare and it comes and it goes.  So when something is bothering you, say something.  If the person, thing, or whatever does not like the comment, sometimes the truth hurts.  I will end this with a saying I heard from a fellow bookcluber, “Save the friend before the friendship.”  The grass is greener on the other side, come sit on the grassy knoll with me!

2 Responses to “Wellness Wednesday- “Speak your mind and the rest will follow….””


  1. 1 thediaperdiaries June 25, 2008 at 2:25 am

    So you were the one in the grassy knoll…

    Preach it sista!!

  2. 2 bigbinder July 7, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Human communication is so difficult, isn’t it? We all have to figure out what works for us and – this is the hard part – find people who ‘get’ who and what we are and what we bring to the table. It’s all just a big potluck, baby.


Leave a Reply

