Ratted Out By An Angel

I woke up this morning knowing I had to attend a memorial service for my Aunt.  More of a celebration of her life actually.  She didn’t want anything formal, just a gathering of friends and family and their memories.  Today was a beautiful day.  Sun shining, puffy white clouds in the sky, Sunday paper (I always look forward to that, more on that later though), and my family.

My son is teething, so my daughter and I decided to go to church ourselves and have a mommy/daughter morning.  This would also include pancakes at IHOP (not necessarily on the diet).  We haven’t been to church in the summer in a while so I assumed it started at 9:30, only to arrive at church with it half way done.  We walked in just in time for Children’s Time.  We quietly found a seat by the band and she proceeded up to the front to listen to the Pastor.  After his message, she proceeded to raise her hand and tell the entire church that her mommy was late for church.  Needless, to say it made the entire church giggle.  She came back to her seat and asked, “What was so funny?  I was telling him the truth.”  I told her that people thought it was silly and that seemed to be good enough (thank goodness).  During the song after communion she also turned to me with some more important information, ” Mommy, I decided that instead of a donut maker I would like to be  singer like that lady in the band when I grow up.”  Do their minds ever stop?  We than proceeded with the rest of church and our date at IHOP.  It was all fabulous!

We decided to bring our children to the memorial service and attend as a family.  Children lighten the atmosphere a bit and they were important to my Aunt Jerri as well.  I am so glad that we brought them.  The little one just kind of stayed in my husband’s arms, but my daughter-well my daughter was a true angel.  The memorial started off with a song that was requested by my Aunt to be played.  The song was by Celine Dion, “Because You Loved Me”.  Take a listen  and imagine the emotion ( Because You Loved Me).  I hid my tears (very poorly) behind my sunglasses.  My daughter noticed and came and sat on my lap.  She whispered in my ear, “Wipe those tears Mama.  Aunt Jerri is in a good place.”.  I truly think she is on Earth to serve.  She than proceeded to go around the tent and give hugs to people that were crying.  Bless her heart.

Then there was a part of the memorial that people got to share their memories and thoughts.  I was asked to read my blog posts, so I did.  You can imagine how difficult that was, especially following that song.   But I will tell you it felt good.  I am glad that two very important people asked me to do this, because I do not think I would have had the courage to do so had they not asked.  I felt a release that was freeing.

Once again, it goes to show how the power of the pen (keyboard) and the innocence of youth can set you free.  I wish you all a very blessed week while we try to get back to a little normalcy if that is even possible.

1 Response to “Ratted Out By An Angel”


  1. 1 The Diaper Diaries July 15, 2008 at 3:11 am

    I am SO glad you did that and it went well. I think sharing what people mean to us is so helpful to other people who are grieving. Sounds like it was a great day.


Leave a Reply

