Wellness Wednesday- Vegetable Soup for the……..Butt?

Its no secret I am on a mission to a healthy lifestyle, mentality, and physique.   I have been eating pretty good, with the occasional splurge ( I have a severe weakness for fried food).  But here is one of my deepest darkest secrets- I HATE ALL VEGETABLES!  Yes I said it.  What kind of a mom and woman am I?  I do not like any of them.  Do I eat them?  Absolutely!  But I have found a recipe for Garden Vegetable Soup that is phenomenal.  You get tons and tons of veggies and if you are doing Weight Watchers it is zero points and on the Core Plan.  The recipe is as follows:

2/3 c sliced carrot

1/2 c diced onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

3 c fat free broth (beef, chicken, or veggie-I use veggie)

1 1/2 c diced green cabbage

1/2 c green beans

1 TBSP tomato paste

1/2 tsp dried basil

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 c diced zucchini

Spray a large saucepan with nonstick cooking spray or olive oil and heat.  Saute’ the carrot, onion, and garlic over low heat until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add broth, cabbage, beans, tomato paste, basil, oregano, and salt; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer, covered, about 15 minutes or until beans are tender.  Stir in zucchini and heat for 3-4 minutes.  Serve hot.

So easy!  It tastes super great and I don’t know why, but it does.  Why question a good thing?  You can eat plain, over brown rice, or over whole wheat pasta.  I eat it most days for lunch and its super filling.  I get a little boost of energy when I am done and not the sleepies after lunch.  You can only imagine the health benefits from this meal versus a burger and fries.  Read here and here for more information on benefits of veggies.  I just dare you to have an entire lunch of veggie :).

4 Responses to “Wellness Wednesday- Vegetable Soup for the……..Butt?”


  1. 1 Cooking Recipe July 23, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Besides water, which should be sipped regularly even when you don’t feel thirsty, Dr. Cooking Recipe

  2. 2 Olivia July 25, 2008 at 2:56 am

    I see that you’re progressing in your blogginess. You have a link!
    See you next week?

  3. 3 bigbinder July 28, 2008 at 2:14 am

    OK next time you come over open my freezer. I made up a ton and froze it, so I’m less tempted to eat Mac&Cheese with my kids for lunch.

  4. 4 adventuremom August 2, 2008 at 1:19 am

    I so love this soup 🙂


Leave a Reply

