She’s baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!

Hello everyone (my two faithful readers)!  I was on a small camping, traveling, start school and work hiatus.  Tons of fun, tons of things to write about and of course lots of laughter.  Life gets so busy without even noticing.  Seriously, September is half done.  What the hell?

So for my return to the blogosphere, I have something actually quite deep for you all to ponder.  Last week I was driving and nearly took out two mailboxes, a kid’s lemonade stand, and a fire hydrant (ok maybe that’s a little bit exaggerated, but could have been) trying to avoid a squirrel.  What is it that is so embedded in most of us that we have to almost become a stunt car driver to avoid hitting a squirrel?

I found this rather interesting.  I know that there are people out there that are like “What the hell is she talking about?”, but I would like to think that most of us at least grip the steering wheel tighter and gasp or in my case zig zag all over the frickin street.  Whats so interesting in me is that the value of life, even of a squirrel, must be deeply embedded in my brain.  I am pretty sure my parents never had the “Don’t run over Squirrels” talk with me, so it must be natural.  It kind of made me feel good that this was my instinct.  I could be a bit more careful, but there is no way I could have bulldozed that tiny dumb as rocks animal over.  I know I value my life, but now I know that I truly value LIFE.

I know.  I know.  It was a frickin squirrel, but stop and think about it for a moment.  I feel like this instance can really tell you things about another human being.  So if you are in the car with a friend and she plows over a squirrel or hedgehog without a single movement, like it was a Slurpee cup-you might wanna think twice about her watching your kids.

These are the random deep thoughts that go through my head that I don’t get to share very often, but now that I have a captive audience-I hope you are as amused I am.

2 Responses to “She’s baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!”


  1. 1 bigbinder September 16, 2008 at 12:28 am

    I think another good question is “Why don’t squirrels value their own lives? Why are they always running in front of cars?”. They seem troubled. Very, very troubled.

  2. 2 thediaperdiaries September 18, 2008 at 3:09 am

    I agree with Binder 🙂 Deep thoughts!!


Leave a comment




HOME